Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
betonklotz

Greetings and question regarding H. reticulatum

Carl
14 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and just wanted to make a short introduction to myself. I'm a university student in the north-east of Germany and the little space my shared flat has to offer is taken over by my Hippeastrum plants (and a few other ones). I started crossing by pollinating my regular white one with my parent's red one when I was still living with them. From that on I fell into these splendid plants and even though my windowsill space is overcrowded I'm still ordering new ones. I just wanted to show you a snapshot of my plants before they moved in their winter residence ;)

{{gwi:372137}}
On top there's my cross (I guess it's something like 'Christmas Gift' x 'Royal Velvet') from May 2007, I hope they're ready to bloom!

The unlabled is 'Sydney', in the black pot there's (you might have guessed it) 'Minerva'

And I wanted to ask you a question regarding my H. reticulatum: I got it via Ebay from Thailand and it hasn't moved since a month. Here are two pictures:

{{gwi:433207}}

{{gwi:433209}}

What can I do to make it advance? I've raised the temperature in my room but still it doesn't to anything ...

Comments (74)

• jodik_gw
    14 years ago

Wonderful! I love Papillio Butterfly! One of my favorites! And any flower with a green in the name is ok by me! I love green and part green flowers!

Looking good!

• Carl
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I've never seen a papilio bloom in real life, I'm sooo excited! :)
    I hope the Emerald won't wait too long with it's bloom since I wanted to cross both of them. My Picotee doesn't seem to be flowering this year, it's rather busy splitting into two! Looks interesting, but I would have loved to try to pollinate the papilio with it ... ;)

All my other plants will be in a friends basement till January ... any idea which cross would be interesting then?

• manfredk
    14 years ago