Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnaroe

Newbie with planting questions

donnaroe
12 years ago

Hello. I am new to amaryllis. I have 10 rose pots that I would like to use that measure 9" tall and 7" across the top. They are clay and taper down to 3.5 " at the bottom. Can I use these to plant amaryllis? I could not afford to go out and buy 10 jumbo bulbs at $15-$20 each, so I bought the nicest regular size I could find at Lowes and Walmart/ This was more in my range of what I could afford. My first question is can I use these-will they grow well in these pots? The rose pots are so pretty and interesting,I would really like to use them. I also thought about painting them to make them look frosted-with acryllic paint. If this is not recommended, please tell me. Also-when you summer these plants out in the garden-do they stay in their original pots, or do you replant?

Second question, is did I buy the right soil? I bought Sta Green potting mix with slow release fertilizer .10 / .08 / .06. Someone told me to stay away from traditional potting mixes with too much fertilizer-it would ruin the bulbs. Is this the right mix and enough fertilizer? Or, do I need something else.

Third question: I would like these to bloom close to Christmas. Some bulbs are barely showing leaves-so are not. I have read anywhere from 4-8 weeks from the time you want them to bloom, you should plant. This is a large range, and I would appreciate your thoughts on that, too. Thank you!!!

Comments (4)

• jodik_gw
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Any pot with adequate drainage can be used, and for Hippeastrum bulbs, one with a decent amount of room for root growth is recommended. I'd say... go ahead and use what you've got... as long as there are drainage holes.