Return to the Amaryllis/Hippeastrum Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lowes 'Desire'

Posted by edie_h 5a NY (Finger Lakes) (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 20, 10 at 14:42

Hi everyone. I'm an amaryllis/hippeastrum newbie who's only grown (and killed) a few 'Red Lion' and 'Apple Blossom' before this year. They always matched the package.

I was amazed by the selection in my local big box stores this year and decided to come here, read up, and see whether I could grow one of these pretties properly.

My local Lowes has a similar selection to what many of you are describing. First to arrive were the $5.98 boxes with the plastic non-draining pot and the peat puck. I bought two 'Christmas Story' in those to pot together in one large clay pot. Decided that would be all I'd buy. When the smaller boxes arrived weeks later I bought one 'Susan' and one 'Oskar' in the $3.98 box. Someone gifted me with a 'Zombie.' I decided that five was plenty and I was done. Really.