Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kentstar_gw

Fertilizer question

kentstar
14 years ago

I bought 3 Appleblossums from Lowes a few weeks ago. I potted up, watered only when needed, and waited. They are doing well, bloom stalks are about 6 to 8 inches tall already. I'm pretty new to amaryllis bulbs. Am I supposed to be fertilizing? At all? If so, with what? I have some granular bulb fertilizer in the shed, or I have some liquid fertilizer called Sea Tea. Do you fertilize at all when the bulbs are planted in a pot? I've already had to stake them!

Thanks all,

newbie to amaryllis :)

Comments (13)

• wesley_butterflies
    14 years ago

Coconut fibers or hair is the potting medium has a PH of 7.0
    Just tossing that in ken as I got one of em from that type of store too.
    As for ferts I don't think the bulb food you have is the same for hippies as there in the lillium family, tulips and daffodil are closer to the onion in family.

• jim_thomerson
    14 years ago

Hippies like fertilizer. Use one where the first number is equal to, or lower than, the other two; say 15-15-15 or 5-10-12. The numbers are for nitogen, phosphorus and potassium. I use bulb fertilizer, rose fertilizer, and tomato fertilizer. Generally, any any fertilizer for blooms will have low nitrogen. If you give hippies too much nitrogen you get a long-leafed sprawley plant not much interested in blooming. A lot of people use low levels of liquid fertilizer with every watering.

• kentstar
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Jim! Good to know and thanks for answering.

• jodik_gw
    14 years ago

I grow my Hippeastrum bulbs indoors, as I would any other houseplant... I make sure they have plenty of sun, water when the medium is dry, and I fertilize with a regular liquid houseplant fertilizer at half strength, every time I water, giving the roots a constant supply of diluted food.

My bulbs bloom on their own natural schedule, which is usually in early spring.