Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigshoes213

mold and mushy blooms

bigshoes213
16 years ago

I can not seem to get rid of mold. It forms on the top of the dirt all around my amaryllis. One day there is none then the next it is covered. How do I get rid of it and how do I prevent it from coming back. I live in zone 7 and my amaryllis plants are inside. I try to let the dirt dry out a little before each time I water. Also my red lion just bloomed but the flower only lasted about 24 hours then died but the bloom instead of drying became kinda mushy. What am I doing wrong. Any help would be great. I am new to amaryllis plants and have about 6 of them right now. Thanks

Comments (7)

• soultan
    16 years ago

Try almost let the soil dry out between waterings, not just a little, and only water from below. That should help with the mold problem. Though I have no idea of the mushy blooms. I have never experienced it myself.

• hopflower
    16 years ago

There are many home recipes for getting rid of moulds on top soils. Usually it is caused by too much moisture and not enough air movement. You can try scraping the top bit off shallowly and carefully; and then replacing it with fresh soil. Let the pot almost dry out before you water again as well. I am sure some others on here have some more tips for you.

• jodik_gw
    16 years ago

I would say your plants need better air circulation and to dry out more in between waterings... a moisture meter would be a really good investment... I bought a really nice one that gives me moisture, light, fertilizer and PH amounts, so I can correct for anything lacking or the opposite. It was about $24 from eBay... but I think you can find them at your local garden center or most large retail stores that handle garden supplies. A meter that only takes moisture readings would be less expensive.

Good luck with your bulbs!

• soultan
    16 years ago