Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jungle87

New to Hippeastrums

jungle87
11 years ago

Hi y'all I am new to growing Hippeastrums, besides the red lion that I grew about 10 years ago that I managed to kill before I knew a lot about plants. I recently bought some more and want to do some cross breeding. Anything basic I should know about breeding Hippeastrums? I have Apple Bloom, Red Lion, Minerva, Gran Cru, Pink Diamond, and Aphrodite. Also Have Ackermanii, Johnsonii, and Voodoo, but I don't think any of these will bloom anytime soon, they are still smallish. What crosses do you think would be good? Also iv heard some hippeastrums have fertility issues, not good pod parents and such. I have no clue about which varieties produce seed easily. Also I heard something about not crossing 2 red varieties together. I hope y'all can give me some pointers. Thanks

Comments (17)

• kaboehm (zone 9a, TX USA)
    11 years ago

Hi!!! There is a lit of good information in the FAQ. Please don't reply to the FAQ message...

There is a bit there about pollinating. Keep in mind that red is dominant, so much of what you cross with red lion, grand cru and other reds will most likely be red. There is some discussion about apple blossom not being a good seed parent (I think...) and doubles are good pollen donors but usually don't have a stigma so aren't typically seed parents. If you are new to this, just go crazy and cross this with that. Don't worry about ploidy as that discussion had gone on for years!!

You are growing the bulbs inside right?? if you feel like saying... Let us know what city you lived near as 1) others who live nearby can help you with area specific growing tips and 2) you never know who might want to trade or give you bulbs as a swap for lunch or a good cup of coffee!
    K

• jungle87
    Original Author
    11 years ago