Return to the Amaryllis/Hippeastrum Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lowe's trip

Posted by tiarella 7b (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 28, 10 at 22:03

I went to buy plastic liners for my plant stand and of course I had to look at amaryllis. Prior to Loew's I was at Target and purchased 3 hippies (2 for me, 1 for a gift). Smith and Hawkin bulbs and $7 each 2 Red Lion and 1 Apple Blossom. I was surprised because Lowe's had some hippies I had not noticed before and I was going to get some when I remembered that any unsold items go on sale sometime before Christmas and some of them had leaves or buds sticking out so I decided to wait a bit. Besides I forgot to get some potting soil and I will have to go back again to also buy a gift for my husband in the tool dept.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lowe's trip

tiarella and others, it would be sooo much better if youall included your location next to your zone. in cases like this, lowes stores vary from store to store so i have no idea if your experience is relevant for me!!

o

Several people have posted that when they asked the clerks or the customer service reps about discounts for bulbs that were/had already bloomed they were getting great discounts, $1.50-$3.00 for the bulbs. Spring, Texas I know and several other states, perhaps Arkansas?

I'd ask for a discount! I plan on stopping in Friday for some things & will see if I have any luck getting cheap bulbs.
Tally HO!

o

I was visiting my parents in Murrels Inlet, SC - they had a bunch of amaryllis in boxes that the scapes were already busting out of the boxes (many were already blooming). They were marked at $5.98 and their other bulbs (daffs,crocus, etc) were marked 75% off - I asked the lady in the garden ctr and she said that I could have them for .50 cents each!! I got ten!

o