Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tangerine_z6

Do amaryllis bulbs grow in water?

tangerine_z6
18 years ago

Can amaryllis bulbs be grown in water or do I have them confused with something else? I was hoping to set one in a decorative pot with stones covering the bottom and keeping the water about 1/3 of the way up the bulb. Thanks.

Comments (12)

• sierra_z2b
    18 years ago

Well I am no expert here.....but I would think that if you set any kind of bulb in water that it would just rot.

I started a couple of hyacinth bulbs in water....but the directions said to set the bulb above the water so its not touching. The roots have grown so that they are now in the water...but the water is still not touching the bulb. I also change the water every few days so it doesn't get smelly.

I don't see how this method would work for amaryllis...as I would think it would need support to hold up the flower stems.

Happy growing,

Sierra

• janet_a
    18 years ago

you can start them and bloom them in H2O, but from what i'm told they won't go much further after that. it's also tricky to keep them from rotting or getting moldy. it's a fun process to watch, though.

if you want to try it, go for it, but *don't* set the bulb itself in the water; keep the water level a half inch or so below the basal plate; don't worry, the bulb will know the water's there and put out roots anyway. :)

• tangerine_z6
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for answering, you just saved my amaryllis bulb from a watery grave. I don't know what I was thinking of but will pot it up right now!

• raul_in_mexico
    18 years ago