Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
azngrnthumbs

Hippeastrum papilio photos

azngrnthumbs
18 years ago

One of our pups bloomed just a few weeks ago here at the University of Washington Botany Greenhouse.

I donated the original bulb to them during my freshman or sophmore year and it has done outstandingly well!

I love this species and I hope you all do as well!! Enjoy!

{{gwi:439112}}

{{gwi:439114}}

Cheers,

Riz

Comments (32)

• brigarif Khan
    18 years ago

Lovely
    I must get one soon.
    ARIF

• kniphofia
    18 years ago

Just gorgeous!

• irish_rose_grower
    18 years ago

Wow, that really is stunning!

I notice that the bulb is almost completely out of the soil. I'm new to hippeastrum and thought the bulb should be at least 1/2 in the potting mix?

• Creeping_Fig
    18 years ago

Great pictures. The plant looks really healthy.

Just out of curiosity, do you remember where you originally purchased your papilio from?

CF

• lora_in
    18 years ago

That is lovely! I got one this year and I'm praying its true to name. Thanks for the picture! Lora

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    18 years ago

That's really something, the color and pattern and shape are all perfect. It's amazing something like that just blooms away on it's own in the jungle and has been doing that for hundreds of years before someone found it and took it home!

• haweha
    18 years ago

{{gwi:3501}}

I estimate H.papilio to be the best of all Hippeastrum species.
    Not only a priori but in the sense that it is a rewarding target for hybridization projects.
    Until now I have obtained encouraging results when I used it for breeding, and actually I like to judge my
    PapDonAmb #4 to be the best result of my first cross breeding experiments - with its saturated blood red color and strange shape:
    {{gwi:3405}}

• Wildcat_IN_Z5
    18 years ago

Haweha,

Wow!

That PapDonAmb #4 of yours is incredible!!!

Wildcat

• azngrnthumbs
    Original Author
    18 years ago