Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daes80us

Questions about amaryllis!

daes80us
11 years ago

So I am not exactly new to growing, I have been growing a couple each year for about 4 years and I'm up to 11 plants this year and I have had excellent results with my endeavors but I do have a couple questions. I am a indoor pot grower because I am in ohio and gets freezing outside just so u know my situation. Question 1. So I know it says when u water not to get it into the neck of the bulb, my question is about summer when I have it outside do I have to worry about the rain getting inside the bulb and rotting the bulb? 2. The next question is about the picture I posted, this flower just opened today and I don't see a stigma or pollen sacs? This is my first double or big bloom and I want to pollinate this flower?

Comments (11)

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    11 years ago

Hi,
    When a plant is growing outside you don't have to worry about water getting down into the neck of the bulb from rain or hand watering. When they have a full compliment of leaves the neck is tight enough to just shed the water. But when you have a new bulb with just a scape or newly emerging leaves then you should be careful. If a plant is inside and you're hand watering it should be easy to avoid this area and just water the soil. I would say that later on when the bulb has several full grown leaves (in a pot) that at this point if you happened to get water on the base of the neck that it would just shed off and wouldn't be a problem.

As for your double, you won't be able to pollinate it. Some doubles will give some pollen that can use on a single. Without the female parts there isn't anything you can do as it's not capable of setting a seedpod.