Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
berkeleysgr8

Too many offsets?

berkeleysgr8
12 years ago

Hi All! I'm a newbie to hippeastrum growing and this forum. I have a mini that was sold as "Graffiti", though if it blooms out like another from the same purchase, it will actually be a "Green Dragon". The bulb has at least 14 tiny offsets growing from all around the basal plate and another one or two that are growing between the bulb layers. The basal plate was thickened, showed evidence of rot, and it hadn't put out a single root (though a few of the offsets had). I used a sharp paring knife to remove some of the thickened basal plate and rot, taking care not to break off the offsets. I couldn't cut out all of the rot without harming the offsets. I dusted the newly cut basal plate with cinnamon and it's now resting in a mesh bulb bag, waiting for the basal plate to callus over. If this were your bulb, would you keep all of the offsets in place, or would you remove some? Thank you for the tips and advice! Sorry I didn't post photos!

Comments (8)

• joshy46013
    12 years ago

Is this a newly purchased bulb, if so I would complain to the retailer as basal plate rot isn't acceptable.

A good way to get a lot of the rot out is with a spoon, gently spoon it out. If there is still a large amount I would consider removing the offsets so that you can keep the large bulb living. It would be really beneficial if we had pictures of what is going on. How large are the offsets? If you think you can clear up the rot by drying and use of cinnamon without removing the offsets then that is what I would do.

Another thing you might want to inspect is if there are any holes in the basal plate, it's possible that this bulb suffers NBF (narcissus bulb fly), this would also produce a massive amount of offsets and rot on the basal plate.

• dondeldux z6b South Shore Massachusetts
    12 years ago

Hi and Welcome!