Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rustinj

10 gal planted tank

rustinj
20 years ago

I'm new to planted tanks, so I'm starting off small. So far, everything seems to be growing well. I have a simple yeast-based co2 system.

Image link:

Comments (19)

• wolflover
    20 years ago

It may be small, but it's absolutely gorgeous!

• rustinj
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks! I thought smaller would be easier to maintain, but it just means more water changes and much more trimming!

• sam_hurley
    20 years ago

Wow, that is beautiful.
    How long has it been established?
    What a lovely tank.
    Sam

• rustinj
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks, Sam. It's been going for about 6 months now and still growing strong.

• Bev__
    20 years ago

It's lovely......what is a yeast based co2 system?

• rustinj
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Bev,

It's a 2 liter bottle with sugar water and bakers yeast. The yeast eat the sugar and give off carbon dioxide. This carbon dioxide is directed into the tank for the plants. There is a lot of info on the web about making your own (try a "DIY yeast CO2 generator" search). You can find a little more info at the site below.

Here is a link that might be useful: CO2 generator info

• jeff_al
    20 years ago

that's the way i like them, chock full of plants and a few fish to keep the plants happy!
    looks great.

• wvhagan
    20 years ago

Nicest 10 gallon I've seen.

• rustinj
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks!

You should check these out.

Here is a link that might be useful: aquascaping contests

• ladybug_guam
    19 years ago

rustinj:
    WWWWWOOOOOOOWWWWWWW!
    There are a lot of people out there that have been planting aquariums and haven't achived something as beautiful as yours. If this is your first one, I sure would love to see the next one you make!
    Congratulations!
    Ana :)

• rustinj
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Ana,