Return to the Aquariums Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Male and Female Betta Together?

Posted by newbettaowner Pittsburgh (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 22, 06 at 11:33

I am a college student and I love fish. Since I had to leave my 10 gallon tank behind at home (due to lack of room)I just had to get a small little buddy for myself. I got a male betta, very beautiful and with apperently no anger issues like other bettas. Some of my friends have bettas, and while visiting them it seems that their betta's are very aggresive when you touch the glass. I tried this experiment with my betta and he just backed away without getting deffensive. My question is, I feel bad that he has no one to be friends with (I know it sounds cheesey). Would I be able to upgrade my bowl to a one or two gallon desk top tank and possibly add a female to the mix? I would like Oscar (that's his name) to be happy with the presence of another fish. Is this at all possible? Are there such things as peaceful male bettas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Male and Female Betta Together?

Yep, can do. I would upgrade to a 5 tho.

My 5.5 gal is home to a male, a female, a couple of snails and a dozen or so ghost shrmp. I have lots of hiding spaces for my female tho, and that the key. Plants, shells, rocks, caves....

o

• Posted by minaku z6 Pittsburgh (My Page) on
    Sat, Feb 25, 06 at 13:46

No. You cannot keep a male and female together without separating them. They will fight, and one of them will come out injured or dead. And especially not in a 1 or 2 gallon bowl, which will be fully stocked with 1 male betta.

Even if you have hiding spaces, the male will chase the female, and this will cause both of them stress. The situation will eventually turn sour and one of the fish will die.

Lastly, to the above poster, a 5 gallon tank (the All-Glass does not hold 5.5 gallons, only 5) is drastically overstocked with 1 male, 1 female, snails, and many ghost shrimp. Consider moving most of those residents.

o