Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbettaowner

Male and Female Betta Together?

newbettaowner
18 years ago

I am a college student and I love fish. Since I had to leave my 10 gallon tank behind at home (due to lack of room)I just had to get a small little buddy for myself. I got a male betta, very beautiful and with apperently no anger issues like other bettas. Some of my friends have bettas, and while visiting them it seems that their betta's are very aggresive when you touch the glass. I tried this experiment with my betta and he just backed away without getting deffensive. My question is, I feel bad that he has no one to be friends with (I know it sounds cheesey). Would I be able to upgrade my bowl to a one or two gallon desk top tank and possibly add a female to the mix? I would like Oscar (that's his name) to be happy with the presence of another fish. Is this at all possible? Are there such things as peaceful male bettas?

Comments (123)

• phyllispm
    8 years ago

I have read everything available on Bettas and I am sure not the first aquarium with peaceful Betts, there are MANY examples posted and even some on You Tube! News flash, Bettas have been proven by many fish lovers to live peacefully in community tanks. One aquarium store owner himself remarked that in another store he saw a tank FULL OF MALE BETTAS and he marveled at how they were just swimming among each other peacefully.

• MrBlubs
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

All that you have proved is that 28 Bettas can live in harmony, so far, in your tank. Just because your tank is working right now doesn't mean the whole world can do the same. II've said countless times that It's working for you. What works for one person doesn't always work for another. And you've only had this tank a year, but not with that many Bettas in it. You haven't proved anything yet. In another year or two with 28 Bettas, if their still live and we'll good job they can live in your tank.

Emphasis on your.