Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juhii1

Planting a new tank.....

Juhii1
19 years ago

I will be getting a new aquarium at the end of this month. It is an established larger aquarium (55 gal. or 100 gal). It is currently at my work but when the owner replaces the flooring he no longer wants the tank in the waiting room. I know very little about the tank it's self (size, age)it has several fish in it. For the past year it has been my responsibility to change the filter matterial and do water changes. Someone it the past has cleaned the tank with a razorblade and it has deep scratches that fill with algae. I'm wanting to get rid of all the plastic plants and plant live ones, but other then water lillies in my pond I have very little experiences with water plants or planted aquariums. Any advice on plants and plant care? And is there anything I can do about the scratches? I can live with them but if there is some way to clean them out and fill them with something it would be better.

colleen

Comments (12)

• Cactopus
    19 years ago

Is the tank glass or acrylic? Sometimes scratches in acrylic can be buffed out if not too deep.
    There are many possibilities on plant type. Do a google search on aquatic plant online retailers to see what all is available. I've linked to one of my favorites below.
    As I'm sure you'll discover, moving an established tank can be quite a task. Especially if its glass I recommend removing everything, otherwise you risk causing weaknesses in the tank structure that could leak or give way at a later point (bad news). What kind of fish does this tank have in it? You didn't mention whether this was a salt or freshwater tank, so I assumed it was fresh.

Here is a link that might be useful: Aquatic Plant Depot

• Juhii1
    Original Author
    19 years ago