Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
runsnwalken

Good fishes for a heated 20 gallon standard, My PH tap is 6.8.

runsnwalken
16 years ago

I'm thinking of using a sand/live plant growing substrate, Something I've NEVER done before, and using driftwood and growing live plants along with fish. I already have a glass lid( going to buy the lighting sep for plants as I've heard the ones that come with kits are inferior for most plants,) the filters a penguin 150 BIO-wheel power filter. This will be a heated aquarium, 78 to 80, What's a good heater to buy?

My taps PH is 6.8, so what types of fish are good for me to try out?

Comments (8)

• petiolaris
    16 years ago

Supreme is a good compant for heaters and I would start out with livebearers to see how they do.

• garyfla_gw
    16 years ago

Hi
    I think the best approach to any tank Decide what is MOST important plants or animals.?? If plants decide what types and how landscaped or multi species you want. There are plants that will grow in any situation and light levels
    You do not need elaborate substrates in fact you can grow many without any at all.lol. The most important thing is LIGHT. I'd aim for 40 watts of daykight white 10/12 hours a day. This will give you adequet light for many species yet not require CO2 or heavy substrate.
    You can get by with as little as 20 watts if you stick with hardy floating, or limited rooters such as Java moss or fern. Root these to driftwood or rocks and leave the light gravel empty.
    For tanks where the plants are most important. your best choice is tetras. A nice school of a single species
    Many types to choose from though I'd stick with those that stay under 2 inches.
    Are you really sure your water is that acid?? Tap water tends to be hard and alkaline. If this is a true normal reading tetras might be your only choice. This is also a bit acid for many plants. Not to worry they will adapt lol.