Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
manbird1

agressive glowfish

manbird1
13 years ago

Hello all.... So im a total rookie when it comes to aquariums. My wife qnd i decided on a 2.5 gallon starter kit for our two year old daughter to enjoy and help out with. We started with a fancy fan tailed guppy, cory cat, and bright pink glowfish. The glow fish is seriously agressive. Its crazy!!! Ate the tail and fins off of the guppy and moved on to feeding on the skin and flesh betwen the cory's eyes and ontop of its head....sadly resulting in the death of both. All the fish were well fed, but we noticed the glowfish was putting on girth really fast and began acting really rabid. Thought maybe it was gravid with eggs butt...who knows...anybody ever heard of or seen behavior like rhis? Shes all alone now so no more fish to prey on!!!

Comments (6)

• woodnative
    13 years ago

A 2.5 gallon tank is very small. Glofish (zebra danios) are very active schooling fish. They are peaceful, but like to be kept with a few others of their kind and move around a lot.....which they can't do in a tank that size. Fancy male guppies can get picked on by a lot of different fish types, even those that are normally peaceful. You may want to consider keeping a single male betta in that tank...which would be colorful and peaceful.

• manbird1
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the input native....funny you should mention the beta..thats exactly what my wife said! I never would have expected the Glofish(thanks for the correction) to do what it did, but you never know. So you think 2.5 is too small? I really like the color of Glofish and wish we could add a couple more, but I guess the beta is probably the best bet. They are solitary in a natural setting if what i remember holds true...then again i'm a total newb to aquarium culture so that doesnt really mean much!! thanks again

• woodnative
    13 years ago