Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jtriggs1941

Seeding a tank

jtriggs1941
19 years ago

I am about to set up a 55 gal freshwater tank in my house and was wondering if it would be ok to seed the tank with some of my pond water. I thought maybe it would get the bio filtration started. I am new at this so don't yell at me if I'm wrong. : )

Terri

Comments (5)

• Minaku
    19 years ago

It'd be better if you seeded your tank with another established tank's gravel or filter. The water actually won't have much bacteria in it.

• AshleyNicole
    19 years ago

Gravel from another tank or part of another tanks filtration would be the best, the bacteria lives on surfaces, it doesn't really float around in the water. Also your pond water may have some diseases that would be harmful to tropical fish.

• Puddlemaker
    19 years ago

i use the fishless method for my last tank and it worked really well. I just put regular ammonia in the water to 4-5 ppm and let it run through the filter I tested the water every day and when the ammonia dropped I would add more. Once the nitrites started I cut back on the ammonia to 2-4 ppm and let that go. The nitrates were off the scale for the last couple of days but with no fish it was easy and I didn't have to change the water at all until the cycel was complete. The whole thing took about 2-3 weeks before I could add fish but when they arrived they have been healthy and the water has tested well since. I also use balance by tetra for the nitrates.

• keithgh
    19 years ago

Hello there

You must use filter material and some substrate from a healthy FW tank.
    I can tell you for sure you will be importing some nasties into your new set up if you use anything from your pond.

I set up a 5ft FW tank from a cracked 4ft FW tank.