Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glenda_gw

Emporer 400 or Aqua Clear110?

glenda
14 years ago

I just bought a 75 gallon used tank that had an old whisper 3 filter with it and I think I should definitely get a better filter. I am very new to keeping an aquarium , so what would you suggest?

I had just set up a 26 gallon and had asked about the chocolate oranda care, thanks for the answer on them and they are still doing good! Knock on wood!!!!!

Thanks,

Glenda

Comments (5)

• birdwidow
    14 years ago

Glenda,

I'm glad to hear your ornada's are doing well and yes, you are correct; a Whisper 3 isn't enough for a 75.

As to which of the large filters; both are very good. I tend to favor the Emperor myself and believe the 400 especially, to be about the most bang for the buck of any power filter on the market, but that's my opinion; other's may differ.

However, it also may depend on how you set up the tank.

What you plan to keep in it?

• glenda
    Original Author
    14 years ago

In the 75 gallon there will just be tropical fish like silver dollar and such, I was fixing it up for my husband in the den. The only kind I like, really are the goldies and they are in the 26 gallon bow front up here in the living area ..this was a setup I bought from Petco and it came with a Aqueon filter 30.. If it doesn't do good I might change it too, but I just have the 2 fish in it . I have a horror of a mess with that big tank and a bad filter. I ordered that Emperor 400 today , just have filled it with water and I'll wait a bit about getting fish for it.Thanks

• birdwidow
    14 years ago

Glenda,

When you next water change the goldies, put the used water into the 75. It's easy to get a new tank up and running practically overnight- if you have another one already well established.

An Emperor 280 would work well on the 26 bow front, BTW. It's really just half of a 400, but the parts are interchageable, which makes maintenance less complicated, and cheap.