Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunshinebetta

yet another betta fin rot?

sunshinebetta
17 years ago

Hi, If anyone can help me with this it would be much appreciated. My Betta is housed in a 1.5 gallon Faunarium (he was in a half gallon Betta kit) since last week.

Unfortunately I had put some stones which were unsuitable, and the water turned slightly cloudy. Well I have removed the stones, and did a partial water change (don't ask me why I did not do a full change...)

Couple of days ago I noticed a tear in his fin. I thought it was the cause of the plastic plant, as he exhibits no symptoms of illness - he is swimming around energetically, eats like a hog, and shows off to me :P

So I didn't chalk it up to anything. However, yesterday another tear appeared on the fins edge, and today there was another. I don't know if this is a good diagnosis for fin rot, he is the first fish I have ever kept, and I'm still learning about behavious and diseases of Bettas.

The tank is on the cold side though - 20-24 celcius range. Unfortunately this is the warmest spot for his tank (next to my comp) but it is still too cold. I am wondering if I should take the plunge and get a 25 watt heater? But I don't want to do more harm than good.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, I'll try to get some photos of the fin - the edges look clean, but the longer tips are curling in?

Well, that is a lot of questions, and I hope someone can help me with this!

Thanks!

ps. By the way I just added a live Hornwort yesterday...but that couldn't be tearing the fins could it?

Comments (19)

• littlehippygirl
    17 years ago