Return to the Aquariums Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do Bettas mix well with other fish?

Posted by Kosplath z7 TX (My Page) on
Sat, May 7, 05 at 14:03

I recently rescued two bettas from a pet store (male and female) both are separated. I was wondering if they got along with other small fish, if so which ones? I would hate to rescue another and have no place for them to live if they didn't get along.

Also, would a tank light irritate them?

I've noticed a big change in the female. It's almost as if she doesn't know what to do with all that space! Vonnegut, the male is such a beauty though!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do Bettas mix well with other fish?

Hi!

I got my betta from a plastic cup at walmart. He is now the king of his own 10 gallon aquarium.

He does not have a light. My friend has killed 5 bettas in her tank and the only difference I see between our set-ups is that I couldn't afford a light when I got mine. Other people may disagree with this. I am no expert.

Other fish don't generally mix well with bettas and female and male bettas should not be in the same tank.

A betta will attack any fish it sees as a threat. Any fish that is the same color or even close to the same shape FORGET IT! Someone is gonna die. The guy at the pet store told me that if it's small, has no big tail or fins, and is not brightly colored, it should do okay with a betta. I choose not to risk it.

My betta lives alone and he is happy (or at least he isn't complaining). It took him some time to adjust to the space, but he now zips all over the place.

o

Thanks for such a prompt response!

I think I will get them both a heater. I figured the light at first because of the heat it sets off, but I don't know if they would like something bright shining in their face all day.

I think I will keep him alone, but I'm reading now that female bettas get along. If so, that's great! I'd get to rescue a couple more.