Return to the Aquariums Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Heater question

Posted by pureza (My Page) on
Mon, May 16, 05 at 15:23

I have a 1 gallon aquarium for my betta. Wal-Mart has a 7.5 watt heater, but it says it's for a 2-5 gallon tank. I know they say it's 5 watts per gallon, so I would like to know if this heater would be okay. I plan to upgade him to a 10 gallon tank as soon as money allows, so I could get a better suited heater. Currently he's on a heating pad, which is working, but I really don't like the idea of doing this much longer. Thanks in advance for any advice given.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Heater question

Im my opinion... I would not put that heater in there. In such small spaces, even a slight change in temp could make the water heat up too fast... therefore cooking your little guy! I would continue using the heating pad until you save up for your 10 gallon.
( Besides, the system your using now is working... So why take the risk!) But I am not an expert... So see what others say :)

o

OB is right, a 7.5 watt heater is too big for a 1 gal aquarium, OB is also right, wait until you upgrade him to that 10 gal tank.

o

Save the money you would have spent on a heater and get that 10 gallon. The heat could rise way too fast like the others have said, I wouldnt chance it.

o

Thanks, everyone. This just gives me more incentive to get that 10 gallon. I'm so concerned the heating pad will be a fire hazard.

o