Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
j3steele

looking for source of cheap substrate

j3steele
16 years ago

I'm a student (on a strict budget) starting up a planted aquarium - 34 gallon 3' x 1' bottom

I hope.

and I need a cheap substrate for my plants

I was thinking a layer of schultz aquatic soil and pea gravel on top

tsc store in Ontario has decorative pea gravel (made by alltreat) on sale right now. would this work as for a gravel top?

what about lake gravel. like the stuff you find on some beaches near the water level (provided it is given a good clean)

thanks

Comments (2)

• woeisme
    16 years ago

By beaches, if your talking of fresh water ponds and lakes, then it may be OK. Saltwater beaches will have too much calcium carbonates. Pea gravel is not ideal for plants, too big in diameter. Schultz's will work, but it clouds the water and is hard to vacuum because it is very light. I have used it in a plant only aquarium. It is also hard to get stem plants to stay still in unless you weigh them down with rocks until they root around a clump of substrate.