Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aqua_jerry

New Aquarium

aqua_jerry
17 years ago

I am new at this hobby. I have a new 16 gallon aquarium. It is a month old. I have an Emperor 280 bio wheel filter and ariate with a stone and wand. I am having ammonia challenges and believe I may have over populated my tank. I have 2 dalmation mollies, 2 sunset platy's, 2 angels, 1 clown loach, and a plesocotmus for algae control. The fish are all apparently healthy and all eat quite well. I am using carbon/ammonia media in addition to the filter cartridge. I have been vacuuming approx once a week and change out approx 4 gal of water at a time. I have been using an ammo blocker to keep the toxification down, however, would like to see this managed by the system eventually. PH is good 7.2, Nitrate and Nitrite are both at 0 ppm which tells me that the ammonia is not getting converted. I have used biological additives to try and assist the process. Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you

Comments (9)

• skygee
    17 years ago

You are very overloaded - and even if the tank was cycled you are overloaded. The angels will grow to be at least 5 inches in diameter - big for a 16 gallon tank. Clown loaches can grow quite large as well (mine in the 72 gallon are 5-6 inches long) and depending on the pleco species you have, my common pleco in the 55 gallon is about 9-10 inches long.

I wish that some species were miniatures like when we buy them as babies, but they're not. Baby angels really are very cute!

I have never been able to keep mollies in a freshwater tank situation. They are really brackish water fish. Clown loaches don't tolerate salt well.

Your platys are perfect for that tank.