Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tmmycat

beginner

tmmycat
18 years ago

I am completely new to aquariums and I would really like to set up a saltwater aquarium ...

I would like to set up a 20-30 gallon saltwater aquarium with mostly corals, and some fish, and any other plants/animals that would help balance the ecosystem. My goal would be to make it like a miniature ecosystem, as self-contained as possible.

... before I even think about starting, though, can I get some advice?

1) How difficult would this project be for a complete beginner? I've never had an aquarium before and it's important to me not to kill animals with my "learning mistakes."

2) How much would this project cost?

Comments (9)

• woeisme
    18 years ago

Set up slowly with the live rock first and no critters. It depends on equiptment and DIY capabilities as far as $$$ but for a reef of 20-30 gal it could cost $300 or more just for the set up without critters. I would reccomend a small brackish water set up to get you used to mixing and testing saltwater/salinity. Also just for experience. But if you want to go forward check out www.about.com salt water aquariums and this forum is useful below

Here is a link that might be useful: reef central forum

• tmmycat
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the links! that's very helpful.

• aakks
    18 years ago

reefcentral.com is a great site for reef tanks (the best imo, I'm a paying member!). Usual estimates for cost are about $25-$50/gal for a basic setup including liverock but no other critters. Reefs are NOT cheap. Even when done on the cheap they cost a small fortune. They are also one of the most difficult setups for a beginner. Not impossible, but very hard. You will have a LOT to learn. I'm not trying to scare you off, I love reefs. I just want to make sure you know what you are getting yourself into before you take the jump. If you want to do this, start reading. Read, read some more, then read some more. Don't rush.