Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ezzy1986

clamped fins!!!!

Ezzy1986
18 years ago

My Hansel has been very happy for the last couple of weeks (since I got him) and is in a heated, 3 gallon tank . I left him overnight on Saturday night after a healthy feeding of live blackworms on Friday and arrived back Sunday to a sad fish sitting on the bottom of the tank and he hardly uses his fins... and when he does, he only uses one... why? what should I do!?!?

Comments (36)

• woeisme
    18 years ago

Sounds like a parasite, I am not good with disease. try this link for isolation.

Here is a link that might be useful: fish disease

• Minaku
    18 years ago

Please give us more information about his tank conditions and about the fish itself.

When was the last time you did a water change? Do you know what the ammonia and nitrite levels are in the tank? What is the temperature of the tank? Other than being clamped, is the fish showing any other signs of illness? What has he also been eating besides blackworms?

When leaving fish alone for a couple of days, it's best not to feed them heavily a couple of days before, and not to feed at all the day you leave. It cuts down on the amount of waste produced so that you don't have a mess when you get back.

• Ezzy1986
    Original Author
    18 years ago

The tank is 3 gallon, no filtration, heated at about 75-78 degrees fahrenheit. There is no plant and a single cave like structure for him to hide in. I usually do a 25-50% water change weekly. Friday afternoon I did a 100% water change and cleaned out the tank (just with water. I treated the new water and added some rock salt. I don't know the ammonia and nitrite levels of the tank.

I'm not sure what you need to know about the fish. He is usually pretty active and just loves swimming loops around the heater... when he is resting he likes to sit on the bottom near the heater.