Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oceanbubbles

Pleco eating mollies???

oceanbubbles
18 years ago

Hello all. I have a 55 galln aqaurium with a 5.5 inch Pleco suckerfish in it.. along with various other fish. Recently.. I have been noticing my smaller mollies are disappearing overnight~ disappeared when I came back from my trip to Vegas. And tonight, I saw that the 3rd molly waas gone too!!! He was there yesterday, but he had been looking sick. My pleco is rather large, and I have heard of them eating sick small fish... or any small fish if it happens to lend itself to the pleco. Is this true? My mollies are all gone! No sign of their dead bodies or anything! Could my Pleco Lloyd be the culprit??

Comments (10)

• moregirll8000
    18 years ago

I'm not an expert but I don't think your pleco ate your mollies-they are not carnivorous, but they could have eaten the carcass. What is the size of your mollies? What are the other fish in the tank? I think one of them could have killed your mollies.

• melle_sacto is hot and dry in CA Zone 9/
    18 years ago

I've also heard of plecs eating other fish and becoming quite agressive. It is likely your plec, Lloyd, ate the mollies. Plecs are nocturnal so sleeping fish at night are easy prey for them, especially if the fish are small. The plecs will also "suck" other fishes slime coat off because it is a source of protein. This means that even if your fish are too big for Lloyd to swallow, he may be sucking their sides at night and leaving them vulnerable to other infections.