Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mandy_g_gw

Please help with water conditions

mandy_g
16 years ago

Hello, All!

I have been keeping aquariums for 20+ years and have never encountered anything like this. I would love some help if possible...

I set up a 29 gallon freshwater (with live plants) aquarium in May. The filter (Millenia 2000) was old and had been in the attic for a couple of years, along with the tank and lights themselves. I washed and rinsed everything really well, bought new gravel and live plants, add a bit of old gravel from my 90 gallon tank (which is doing perfectly fine) to start the bacteria going, added water and left it alone for a month or so. Everything was fine - no ammonia and a ph of 7.4 - 7.6. I then added 2 small orandas and a tiny chocolate pleco. Now, I realize that goldfish are messy, but I've had many over the years and they have never created a problem. Within a week, the water was cloudy and smelled "sulphury". I did a 50% water change. Within another week, the same thing happened. Another water change. This happened about 4 times, and then I woke up one morning and both orandas were floating (the last water change was 3 days prior). Pleco was doing fine. At each "cloudy/sulphury" burst I tested the water - ammonia at 0, PH at 7.4 - 7.6. No changes there.