Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laura408_gw

Help with Gourami

laura408
16 years ago

I am new to having fish. Spent 2 months trying to get 30 gal tank right. Pet shop was having me change water and adding new chemical's every week. Finally realized problem was feeding way to much and nitrites were so high my fish suffered. Now tank is ,all levels on test strip are perfect. Out of 19 fish only a few (9)made it through all the trials.

My problem is, today my male gourami started nipping at the flounder, pulls him off the side of the tank, also started chasing the other fish. He has not been a problem before, why now? I have him seperated right now, but would like him to be a part of the community again. Any suggestions?

Comments (2)

• petiolaris
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

A simple solution would be to add plants and or shale to the tank. A lot of fish are territorial and also need hiding places. Is it a Blue Gourami?

• sherryazure
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Could you please list all types of fish. First for start up tank way to many fish to cycle the tank which caused spikes in nitrates/nitrites. Please look up cycling - here is one site.

http://faq.thekrib.com/begin-cycling.html

This is all too complicated for me (never did it as a kid, but then back in 60's onward the Dr. Innes books I read informed one to set up the tank, planted, for about one month allowing it to 'mature' and add fish slowly - so same thing.)

I do it now by setting up tank, letting it sit for a bit then gradually add fish (two to three to begin with) until filter floss, gravel et al cultures bacteria. (To speed this up I keep two filters per tank - 20 long, and use filter from established tank to start new one, takes a day! (sand, floss, from an established tank does the same or viable bio bugs can help)