Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kevabear

Help, Bored Betta

kevabear
11 years ago

I've had my betta for a couple weeks now. He tends to always be hanging out tucked behind the filter up at the top of the tank. When I come in he will follow my finger and swim around a little bit, but I never walk in to find him swimming around on his own, always just tucked away and hidden. I've just read about changing things outside his tank for him to look at and investigate, showing him a mirror occationally, ping pong balls, and changing location of his tank, not gonna happen... Does anyone have any other suggestions as to how to keep him more active and not hidden all the time? I did just set a little dog statue outside his tank and he seemed quite interested in that but has already gone back to his hiding spot. Any thoughts you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (6)

• Lexarose
    11 years ago

Hi. Kevabear, I'm a newbie owner of a betta and noticed that once summer was over and the house got cooler he stopped his activity and acted real weird. I hurriedly bought a heater to keep temp around 75 or so. He's totally happy and active again. I keep my house very cool in the winter 'cause I hate paying large heat bills so once I saw he wasn't thriving it was a no - brainer. The pet store says they don't need a heater but I don't want to keep my house like a sauna for one little fish. I don't know what your temperature is but thought I'd add my 2 cents worth.
    Sue

• kevabear
    Original Author
    11 years ago