Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wandering_willow

Goldfish Question?

wandering_willow
12 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this part of the forum, usually posting on the gardening side. I recently got a 10gal tank with a filter (one of the kits from petsmart) and two goldfish, a fantail and a shubunkin. At first I was worried because the shubunkin (Casper) seemed like he could swim faster than the fantail (Harold) and I was scared he'd always beat him out for the food. The petstore said it would be fine, so I decided to give it a try since I really liked both fish (very personable, swim right over demanding food and being cute!)

Anyway, since being home in my tank for a little over a week the opposit has happened - the fantail is way better at eating, and gobbles up the food before poor Casper can get much (Casper also is not good at eating, he grabs the flake, then spits most of it out, goes up to eat and misses the piece of food he was lunging at...).

Today I woke up to find Casper laying at the bottom of the tank, he got up for feeding time, swam around a bit, but then lay back down. I had seen Harold chase him before a little, do you thinking Harold is driving him to exhaustion or hurting him? Is he getting enough food?

I love both fish, Harold is a great personable fish and will swim up and grab flakes from my hand even though I've only had him a little over a week (I don't want to make him out to be a bad guy, lol)

So anyway, what should I do? Will they work it out amongst themselves like the woman at Petco said?

Thanks!

Comments (3)

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    12 years ago