Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rexall_gw

Emperor 400 Filter not working - Help!

Rexall
18 years ago

I have a 42 gallon w/ an emp. 400 filter. I recently (yesterday) moved the tank across the street to my new home and it isn't working properly! After priming it 100% it pumps for a few seconds only to slowly drain and need priming again. Much to my dismay I've disassembled the filter and checked everything - cleaning out the area around the impeller. I'm at a loss and I need it to work! My fish are in an incredibly dirty tank that needs the help of the bacteria in the filter media. The filter was only out of the tank for about an hour. I've come to the conclusion that it IS pumping - it just doesnt seem to be taking in enough water. I've checked the induction tube for any obstructions. Anything helps. I'm a broke college student so buying a new one isn't possible.

Comments (13)

• birdinthepalm
    18 years ago

I'm not familiar with that model, but it reminds me of a very expensive Eheim canister filter I had many years ago, and though that was a great filter the first two years or so, the last year I had it , it started having problems. It sounded like the impeller was spinning , but no water movement, and it's only now I think perhaps there was a crack or bad seal somewhere that wouldn't let it prime properly. That's terrible for a very expensive filter, but I was moving about that time and gave it to a friend along with my other aquariums etc. and just hoped he could get it working again. Have you checked all the seals , gaskets, etc, if it's even a canister type. As mentioned I'm not famiiar with that filter!

• lynn_d
    18 years ago