Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robbieanne

Need advice on automatic fish feeders

robbieanne
18 years ago

Hi, I'm new to this forum and would appreciate your advice.

I have an aquarium containing 6 African Cichlids, and I'm going out of town for a couple of weeks. Can anyone recommend a good automatic feeder? I generally have a neighbor come over to feed the fish, but I'd rather try the auto feeder route if there's one I can rely on.

Thank you,

Robbie

Comments (5)

• skygee
    18 years ago

Are you thinking of having someone stop in at least every couple of days? Just to make sure the tank is running okay - no loss of power, etc, etc? Being in zone 4, I'd worry about losing power and heat, which of course then your fish will be gone.

• robbieanne
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Yes, I plan to have someone check the tank while I am away. I'm new to my community, so I don't have a lot of people that I know or trust to take on such a task, unfortunately. I had a neighbor feed the fish when I was away for 4 days not long ago, and the fish were waaaay overfed. I came home to a mess.
    I really need to get a feeder that is reliable. Have narrowed it down to either a Hagen NutraFin Profeed or an Eheim Feed Air Automatic, both of which appear to be high-end feeders.

• skygee
    18 years ago

They're both battery operated, right? I'm sorry - I have no experience with automatic feeders - so can't really recommend one over the other.