Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris_e_uk

Anthurium Regale growth rate

chris_e_uk
15 years ago

Can anyone tell me if the Anth. Regale is a particularly slower grower compared to other Anthurium. Even if grown at completely optimum conditions, how often can one expect the plant to produce a new leaf.

Comments (9)

• aroideana
    15 years ago

The larger and more magnificent the leaf the slower the growth . I have had no personal experience with this sp. but it would be similar to marmoratum and warocqueanum , and only get a leaf or 2 every year .

• chris_e_uk
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I have found Warocueanum and Marmoratum to be much faster in growth, the Warocqueanum puts a new leaf out almost as soon as the previous one is done growing and the Marmoratum puts out a leaf every 6-8 weeks, but the Regale put out one leaf a year, two if Im lucky!!!!!

• garyfla_gw
    15 years ago

Hi
    What are optimum conditions. Have always wanted to try this species but suspect it's heat sensitive?? Grows in high altitude?? thanks gary

• faycan
    14 years ago

I did have this anthurium in my care when I was a kid. My granny gave it two me and I even divided it into two plants that became huge. I remember leaves easily one meter long. Since we were not serious collectors, we had no idea what the plant was. Probably we got everything wrong. I have read people keep it always moist and in sphagnum... Well, we had it in soil, regular soil, the same one we used to grow potatoes. We watered it as much as any other plant, once a week, maybe less in winter. They grew perfectly well, healthy and with leaves always getting bigger and bigger.