Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ornata

Colocasia affinis 'Jenningsii': which way up?

ornata
18 years ago

Hi. I'm new to growing Colocasia. I received three of these tiny tubers mail order and have no idea how to plant them. They are like slightly flattened spheres; one side is smooth and rounded, while the other side has a series of concentric rings leading up to a tiny point. Can anybody tell me which way up they should go?

Also, do all Colocasia naturally have a dormant period, and if so, should I delay planting them until spring (into a pot indoors - not outside!) or is it okay to plant them in a pot now (but not too moist)? I'd rather plant them out than risk losing them to dessication or rot in storage.

Many thanks in advance for any advice you can give me on these.

Comments (6)

• bihai
    18 years ago

Plant the tip up, plant very shallowly.
    Colocasia as a general rule don't actually have a dormant period in nature. They go dormant when they get too cold. You could start them in a pot in the house now, keep damp but not wet, as soon as they sprout put them in a sunny window. Transplant them out when its consistently above 50 at night.

Ours here live year round until the first hard freeze (defined for the purposes of my colocasia as below 28 degrees for over 4-6 hours in a single night). That will usually kill them back, and they start trying to re-emerge in mid- February. If the weather cooperates, they do re-emerge and grow. If it freezes hard again, they go back in the hile til mid-March.

• ornata
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks, that's really helpful - I appreciate it. And luckily enough, that's pretty much how I've planted them!

• bluebonsai101
    18 years ago