Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheltieche

arisaema seeds

sheltieche
17 years ago

I have several arisaema seeds germinated- flavum, amurense, consangineum, couple of others including sauromatum venosum.

They were started 10-20 seeds in 2 in pots and now most of them up and have first leaf or whatever constitutes for one.

Anyway, I was wondering should I leave them to grow tight in their small pots or should I separate them into individual cells. Space under lights a premium... but I want what is best for my babies...

Comments (2)

• geoforce
    17 years ago

Lindalana, I'm new to this myself, and this is the first time I've tried arisaema. I've grown Arum italicum from seed however. From what I read and the answers I've got here and on other forums, arisaema seedlings start to die back and go dormant in a few months and then need a cold rest to restart growth. I planted A tortuosum and A flavum seed on October 30 and had 100% germination with tortuosum and 95% with flavum. The tortuosum went dormant a few weeks ago, and I dug them and put them in the fridge in a vial with some moist peat. The tubers were about garden pea size. The flavum are starting to go dormant this week but might hold on a bit longer. I'll try to keep them growing as long as possible to get larger tubers. I also have consanguineum and taiwanense seed planted in january. The former is now up to 85% and the latter just starting to show. Also have sikokianum and more tortuosum from a different source planted last week, but nothing happening there yet.

I think I'll treat them all as I did the first batch of tortuosum. Will leave in the fridge about 3 months then replant spaced out in bigger pots.

George

• lilydude
    17 years ago