Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Schismatoglottis or Homalomena? 3 IDs please

Posted by gailqld Gympie SE Qld (My Page) on
Thu, Feb 3, 11 at 20:05

Hi all. I did ask this on the tropicals forum but was referred over to here - didn't know there was an Aroid forum. I grow quite a few tropicals, especially aroids, but don't know a lot about them - I'm only a novice yet. I've been trying for a while to find out definite IDs for these 3 plants and would really appreciate any help.
The first one I'm fairly sure is Homalomena rubra 'Emerald Gem' though would like it confirmed - can put on more pics if needed. It only stands about 30cm above the pot.
Photobucket

The second one is a Schismatoglottis I think? If so does anyone know which one?
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

The third one I don't know. Could be either Schismatoglottis or Homalomena or something else?
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Schismatoglottis or Homalomena? 3 IDs please

Hi there, im not going to be any help with these plants, they are not my area of expertise, ha. Head over to the International Aroid Society Facebook page if you dont get a response here. You can also join the Aroid-l, its free. Bye now.

o

last is an AglAONEMA

o

Thanks radarcontactlost. Unfortunately I'm not into facebook and avoid it as much as possible.

Thanks aroideana but that last one definitely isn't an aglaonema. I've grown different aglaonemas for years (used to work in a nursery that grew aglaonemas) and have about 8 or so different ones myself, and this plant is very different. The texture of the leaves is different and not as sappy or brittle... if they are the words I'm after. Also the stem seems to stay under the ground mostly, more like a rhizome, though sometimes just above ground and the leaves often emerge from below ground. It seems to spread by creeping along or just under the ground and doesn't seem to get much taller than the above pictures.