Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to Plant calla lillies indoors!!

Posted by nikki1846 WI (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 27, 10 at 15:50

Hello,

I just bought one calla lilly bulb and would like to grow it indoors. I am just wondering if anyone has any advice or tips as to how to grow this indoors successfully. I have never done it before and am just very interested in trying it out but have no idea where to start!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to Plant calla lillies indoors!!

I certainly wouldn't want to discourage you but the genus Calla is composed of plants that grow in a forest swamp. According to the Royal Botanic Garden Kew in London they commonly thrive between the edge of the forest and a raised bog. Basically they are bog/swamp plants rather than a house plant.

They can be grown in damp sphagnum moss since they also commonly live as a creeper in streams and ponds. They must stay damp and love bright light which may make growing them indoors in dim light difficult.

The plants are members of the family Araceae so try looking up the International Aroid Society and do some research on that site. There is a search engine in the lower left hand corner of the home page. The index will also search the IAS forum known as Aroid l where you may be able to find growing information.

Here is a link that might be useful: International Aroid Society

o

What kind of calla do you have? If you bought a hybrid (they come in many different colours) they do not appear to need anywhere near as much water as the white species. If you have a white (I forget the actual species name other than the family (?) name Zantedeschia lol) you will have to keep the saucer under the pot filled with water.

I'm sure that there a tons of people on here who know a LOT more than me. (Or who can correct me if I'm wrong). Maybe they can give you more info??

Good luck!

Ryan

o