Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terpguy_gw

Beginner Amorpho?

terpguy
18 years ago

Hello all! I've been growing orchids for about 5 years now, but am considering trying my hand at something a little more unusual. I've always been a big fan of A. titanum (am really shocked to see so many people having good success with them when i thought they were almost impossible to grow! Didnt' even realize they were available to the general public!), but most certainly don't have the room for it. So I was wondering if you all could possibly tell me if there are any compact amorphos that would do well inside a home during the winter and outside during the summer.

Appreciate the help! :)

Comments (6)

• bluebonsai101
    18 years ago

Well, there are very few evergreen Amorphs so that narrows your search. Very few of those are dwarfs. The typical thing is for people to grow them for the summer and store the tubers dormant for the winter. Some dwarfs that I love are pygmaeus, saururus, verticillatus (supposedly evergreen, but not for me), obscurus (some wonderful variegated forms out there) and sizemoreae. Of course, absolutely none of these would be considered real common (except the plain leaf form of obscurus which is easily had) and are probably harder to find than the common titanum. If you have never grown one then perhaps a good starting point is good ol' Am. konjac....easy as anything else in the garden except maybe daisies and nicely rises in May/June and goes dormant again in say Sept/Oct. Perfect for the climate that has winter :o) Dan

• rubbleshop
    18 years ago

Hi terpguy,
    The reason A. titanium has such a reputation for being difficult is that people tried to grow them initially from tubers imported from Sumatra, which were already heavily diseased and very very hard to grow and very hard to get to flower and died straight after if they did flower.