Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pokeytoesmomma

Questions about Lavender Calla Lily

pokeytoesmomma
19 years ago

Hello =)

I am totally new to Calla Lilies and have a few questions for all of you pro's on here....please excuse me if my questions seem stupid. =)

Today I purchased a gallon size pot of Lavender Calla Lilies. It wasn't that cheap....so I don't want to kill it. Leave it to me....I can! =)

I asked a woman who was also buying some if they would come back after our zone 7 winters...like a lot of lilies here do. (No need for digging them up in the fall) She told me they would be fine....hum....?????

My questions are.... Do I need to dig them up in fall?......If so, how should I store them?.....Do they spread/multiply like Day lilies, etc? Do they only bloom once a season?.....Does it hurt the Plant to cut the pretty flowers off and bring them in my gloomy house?

Thank you in advance for all your help and info on this subject. =P ~~~~~~~~~Goodnight~~~~~~~ Cris

Comments (11)

• melle_sacto is hot and dry in CA Zone 9/
    18 years ago

Hi! Calla lilies are not true lilies and can't be compared. I don't think your lavender c.l. will be winter hardy in your zone and you should dig it up in the fall and store it in a cool dry place until spring. I don't know what you would store the tubers in though, maybe some wood shavings in a breathable bag like an onion or garlic bag. The c.l. do not spread like daylilies but their tubers can be divided when they are larger, you will be able to estimate every year since you'll be digging them up. It does not hurt the plant to cut the flowers and they are nice, long-lasting blooms as long as you change the water regularly. Blooms will continue to come up during the summer season only. Hope this is helpful and that other people can give you information as well.

• pokeytoesmomma
    Original Author
    18 years ago