Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A. yuloensis and A. symonianus

Posted by psyguy10 8a (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 9, 09 at 23:06

hello everyone, i have been thinking about getting some bulbs of Amorphophallus yuloensis and A. symonianus, but i have no idea how hardy those are, i wouldn't mind digging them up but i would like to know how cold they'd be able to get before they would be in danger... and theres almost no info on the web on how big these grow, so if anyone has grown these i'd like a little bit of help. thanks

-Matt

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A. yuloensis and A. symonianus

A.symonianus , is an easy grower , I have had it planted out for a few years , but it never gets cold here ,, maybe down to 60 on the coldest day . Will even take full sun .

o

Thank you Aroideana, well thats good... i like easy LOL if i may ask, how tall does A. symonianus get? and is it a stinker like most amorphs? thanks...

-Matt

o

I have both of these too. This is my first time growing amorphophallus and am wondering about the leaf heights.

My biggest konjac is just over one foot, young plant. I have some pups up that are nearly as tall.
What about yuloensis and symonianus ? How tall will their leaf get? My symonianus are coming up now.

o

I've got a few symonianus, they multiply steadily. But mine only ever get to about half a metre tall and haven't flowered so far.

o

One way to make sure you never lose those ones would be to store the leaf bulbils in a box inside, and leave the mother in place to fend for herslf, even the smallest of leaf bulbils will survive the winter and they grow rapidly!

Buyer beware...there's a seller on eBay tgat sells these 2, I ordered from him and received stock that appeared to be infected with a virus, it spread rapidly,
Leading to my tossing several plants...

Quite a shame!

o