Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
destany_gw

Elephant ear bulb not doing anything.

destany
18 years ago

I've had this "mammoth elephant ear" bulb in moist soil for nearly a month. It's not doing anything. It's in a pot, in a sunny location, the soil has been kept moist. I dug it up yesterday, no roots, shoots, nothing, nadda, it's exactly as it was when I planted it. Not squishy either, no rotton smell when I dug it up.

Did I do something wrong? How do I get this thing to grow?

Destany

Comments (15)

• windclimber
    18 years ago

D- I have had that happen to me before. I am no tropical expert by any means, however My EE's planted in partial to full morning shade,and good sun the rest of the day seem to do better than the ones planted in full sun all day. The ones that did not make it were in full sun all day, and wet all the time after planting as they were at the end of a slope.
    Maybe this could attribute or help you, I think there can be bad bulbs too.

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

My EE's are not up yet either, except for 1. But, we have had extraordinarily cool weather for Oklahoma this past month. I would imagine you are experiencing similar conditions? For me, EE's don't do much of anything until the days and nights are consistently warm. These temp fluctuations we are having are not doing a thing for them, and I still anxiously await the warmth of the sun and warmer nights for my EE's to emerge. I have the regular c. esculenta and the giant, too.

Susan

• plantfreak
    18 years ago

I'd just wait, it's simply still dormant. They are bearly stirring here either. PF

• destany
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the replies! I'll just sit and be patient then, there's still hope!

Destany

• brian_7_atlanta
    18 years ago

Elephant ears require warm soil before they break dormancy. Try warming the soil to a consistent minimum of 60-70F and yours should wake up. Otherwise, your plan to be patient sounds like a good one!