Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lariann_gw

New Dark Alocasia

lariann
16 years ago

I'm posting this in hopes that someone has seen this plant and might know the origin of it. I've made a page for it and posted pictures there; see the link below.

At one point I thought this was the plant some were calling "Jurassic Dark", but since I found the Jurassic Dark is apparently a variety of Alocasia plumbea 'Nigra', this plant I found is something new.

I call it Alocasia sarawakensis 'Dark' because morphologically it is just like A. sarawakensis, only with the coloration.

BTW, if you want one, let me know!

LariAnn

Aroidia Research

Here is a link that might be useful: Alocasia sarawakensis 'Dark'

Comments (6)

• Jane5
    16 years ago

Oh my gosh!!!!!! I just LOVE that!!!!

I am just getting started with my collection of Alocasias. I wish I lived in an area that I could find something like that. Everything I get has to be mail order.

Congratulations on your find.

Jane

• greenelbows1
    16 years ago

It is gorgeous, LariAnn! Hope it multiplies like rabbits! I've been told I shouldn't get any more plants until I take care of what I've got, but sooner or later I definitely want one.

• philofan
    16 years ago

That's an stunning one for sure! I would be glad to take a spare one, LariAnn.

I tried to get one of the new A. infernalis plants, but the grower had a crop failure. Are they hard to grow I wonder.

Here is a link that might be useful: A. infernalis

• lariann
    Original Author
    16 years ago

A. infernalis is one of those "jewels" that is a diva. I have some of them and they will up and die just like some of the other jewels do, and for no apparent reason. I've tried crossing with A. infernalis and so far no luck. The plant does appear to have characteristics that would place it nearer A. cuprea than the other jewels.