Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
claudine_gw

Amorphophallus Konjac (picture posted)

claudine
17 years ago

I'm hoping someone in this forum knows anything about Amorphophallus. I just got mine to bloom for the first time. It only took six years. Now the flower is wilting down and I would like to know if I should stop watering it and store it as I would for the winter? Or should I continue to water it? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Claudine

{{gwi:18857}}

Comments (8)

• greenelbows1
    17 years ago

That's a much prettier flower than mine was! I'm not an expert, and there are some on here, but I would assume you should let it sorta rest until it starts to put up its leaf, and then feed and water the heck out of it so it'll bloom next year. Down here, after they bloom, I just leave 'em be, and add some fertilizer if I remember--all my Amos are in the ground. Come to think of it, I should check the ones I got this spring to see if they've started growing yet! Along about time I think.

• CarolynA
    17 years ago

I'd like to know too. I planted mine because I thought it was putting up a leaf but it was a flower. I didn't expect a bloom so soon! Do I just leave it in the ground? Do I water it? Will it put up leaves next? It's in a pot with a few other, smaller, Konjac bulbs. I'm just not sure what to do with it.

PS -- the bloom is great! But, a little smelly.......

• bluebonsai101
    17 years ago