Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenphotographer

Amorphophallus albus leafing out

gardenphotographer
18 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new to the Aroid forum, but thought I would report on my collection. I live in the frozen tundra of Wisconsin and therefore grow my aroids in pots that can be moved indoors over winter. I keep the pots fairly dry during winter (watering 8 ounces of water once per month into each 8 inch pot). In April, the pots are moved to a sunny window in the garage (not allowed to freeze). In May, they are moved outdoors onto a table and recieve full day sun (8+ hours). Plants then receive their one and only treatment of Osmocote slow release fertilzer for the year. They are pretty much on their own from that point on.

This week, four of my potted aroids have produced emerging stalks and leaves are beginning to develop. My emerging plants are: Arisaema heterophyllum, Typhonium divaricatum, Amorphophallus albus, and Amorphophallus konjac. Previously, two of my plants emerged in winter and both produced flowers. My blooming aroids were: Arisaema saxatile (flowered mid February) and Arisaema candidissimum (flowered mid April).

Four of my plants show no sign of life. My dormant / dead plants are: Arisaema taiwanense, Pinellia peltata, Amorphophyllus bulbifer, and Amorphophyllus henryi. I have hope that these may still emerge over the summer. We shall see.

Perhaps my successes (and failures) will interest others in growing these facinating plants. Your comments and guidance is always appreciated.

Tom

Comments (4)

• fresh_tendril
    18 years ago

Wow, you have a nice little collection of aroids.