Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
firegurl

Dranunculus vulgaris--a few questions???

firegurl
17 years ago

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting in this forum. Hope everyone here is having a good season so far. With the help of a few other members I have identified a dranunculus vulgaris plant that is now growing in my garden.

Since I live so far south, this plant has already flowered for the season. Now the entire plant is dying back, I think this is normal after flowering right?

Also, it has produced a seed pod and I am wondering how to properly save the seeds. I would also greatly appreciate info on how to store this plant til next season. I don't have frost here but am afraid that it might be too dry or too wet with watering to leave it in the ground. I would really appreciate any suggestions from anyone who has grown this plant sucessfully it is so beautiful and I don't want to kill it. It didn't even smell that bad, only for a day or so. I had to rescue it from the abandoned lot near my house because they are doing the preliminaries for construction there.

Thanks in advance and Happy Gardening

:) Danielle

Firegurl

Comments (19)

• jim_6b
    17 years ago

Yes it is normal for them to die back after they bloom and produce seed. Mine are starting to do that now. I leave my tubers in the ground year round unless they need thinning. I have never saved the seed, but I think they should be planted shortly after they ripen and not allowed to dry completely. I don't know this for a fact, so maybe someone else can help with an answer to that question. Also, wear rubber gloves when removing seed from the berries. Check out the IAS website at www.aroid.org if you haven't already.
    Jim

• firegurl
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Hi Jim,

Thanks so much for the info, I really appreciate it. I will definitely check out that website too. I thought this was normal just wasn't sure if I was doing something wrong because it's really hot here.

:) Danielle