Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growhappy

Need a Source for A. Hilo Beauty...

GrowHappy
18 years ago

Can anyone recommend a place online to get a good size one of these? I know that Logees has them but you have to buy 4- 5 plants in order to make one nice sized plant. Thanks in advance!

GH

Comments (7)

• cannafreak
    18 years ago

Try A&B Tropicals they usually have Hilo Beauty. There plants are nice quality and prices are pretty reasonable.

Here is a link that might be useful: A & B Tropicals

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

Cannafreak - what a great source for alocasias and colocasias at such great prices! Thanks for sharing that with me, since I am new to aroids. I just have a couple of jacks, about 4 different alocasias, colocasias, remusatia (hitchhiker EE), which I think is a pretty good beginning. I am finding that these guys winter over very well in my back yard (south facing, but part shade in summer due to large trees surrounding the perimeter of my property. I just showed my daughter the pictures of the giant Thai colocasia, and she gasped, "Mom, where are you going to put that thing!". My response, as always, "I'll find a place!"

Susan

• GrowHappy
    Original Author
    18 years ago

CannaFreak, thank you for sharing this with me! This is a perfect size and the price is quite reasonable. I have another question for you. Since I will be planting it in a container and overwintering indoors as a houseplant, I'd like to choose the best kind of soil and container. Do I need a tall container? Will terra cotta do well with EEs? What should I amend the soil with? Perlite, peat?

Thanks a bunch!

GH

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

Why are you guys going to overwinter indoors? Mine are fine with about 1' mulch, a sealed bag of mulch or soil thrown on top after the leaves die down. Maybe I have more of a microclimate in my south facing yard surrounded by trees, wood fence, decking, etc.?

Susan

• cannafreak
    18 years ago