Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thuddleston446

Just got a new Alocasia Polly

thuddleston446
18 years ago

Hello all... I am very new to plants.. (houseplants mostly) and I just got my first Alocasia Polly .. I really love this plant, it is SO interesting.. but when I google it, Im getting lots of conflicting information about how to best care for it. Could any of you give me some advice?

The only thing that seems consistent is fast draining soil, is it safe to assume the soil it was sold in is fast draining, or not?

What kind of sun exposure does it like? Indirect light, shade?

I appreciate any help!!

Comments (9)

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

I've not heard of this one, but I am somewhat new to aroids. What does it look like? Is 'Polly' a nickname, or a cultivar name?

I'm sure you'll get some answers here, but if not, you might try to google it and see what comes up.

Susan

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

I saw 'Polly' at the nursery today! Stunning, just like it's parent, Amazonica! How hardy are they?

Susan

• thuddleston446
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Susan.. it is truly stunning!! One of my favorite plants now!
    Ive been reading up on it, but unfortunately, lots of conflicting info... from high sun, to partial shade..
    hopefully it does okay in partial shade, as sun is hard to come by at my house :)
    I'll let you know how it goes..

T Huddle

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

Is it hardy in your zone? Or, do you intend to dig it up and winter it indoors? I thought that amazonicus was pretty tropical, unable to withstand a zone 7 winter??

I have wintered over my upright EE and regular EE's. This year, I am going to try to winter over Black Magic, Nigra, fontanesii, Illustris, and a new Thai Giant I purchased from Plant Delights. Most of these that I talk about are hardy at least to zone 7b. If I mulch it really well, I think they will come back next year.

Susan

• cannafreak
    18 years ago