Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I'm new to plants! - help on calla lillies

Posted by bubbly4me uk (My Page) on
Sat, Aug 6, 05 at 5:42

Hi there
I love calla lillies. I saw some were being sold in a pot in a garden centre few months ago. I was tempted to buy them but because I don't have any experience on plants, I had to let it go.

However, I saw some more yesterday and this time they are in yellow and dark pink and I just couldn't resist them so I bought them.

They are in a plastic pot at the moment. The pots seem to be too small for them. Do I need to move them to a bigger pot? The house is rented and I don't want to plant them in the garden. Is it ok to leave them in pots? Can I have them indoor? or they have to stay outdoor? Do they just keep flowering every year?

The florist had told me that they don't need much care and they should keep flowering every year but I tried to look up some info on the net about them. It seems that they do need a bit of care, I'm confused!!!

Please help! I love the flowers dearly and I would like to take good care of them.

many thanks in advance

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I'm new to plants! - help on calla lillies

I don't know much about them either, but there has been a lot of discussion on them lately. Did you do a search on this forum? Also, what is your zone, and do you know if they are hardy in your zone?

I assume that since they are a tuber or bulb, that overwatering would be the worst thing, but on the other hand, some of the species like to be marginals/bog plants.