Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rredbbeard

Advice on Amorphophallus seed?

rredbbeard
17 years ago

I am fairly new to these plants, having grown them now for two years from corms that a friend gave me. So far, so good. I am told that my plants are either Sauromatum venosum or Typhonium Venosum, and I have posted a link to a picture of them.

I have several large seed heads that have not yet turned red. Would someone with some experience with these tell me what to expect, and how to treat them? When do I remove the seed head? I have heard that seed can take several months to germinate...can they be stored dry? If I pot up the seed, should I keep the medium moist? Any info will be appreciated...Thanks!

--Rick in CT

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:389957}}

Comments (15)

• davidia
    17 years ago

Do you have a photo of the seedheads ? The plant looks like an Amporphophallus.

For Amorphos, try to harvest the seedheads when they are almost fully ripe (orange-red) and sow the seeds fresh. The medium should be kept moist, and germination rate for fresh seeds should be 75-100%. The seeds can take anywhere from 1-5 months (for those I've tried) to germinate - a real test of patience !

• rredbbeard
    Original Author
    17 years ago

This is actually amorphophallus typhonium venosum, I am told. Here is a pic of one of several seedheads, all of which have remained very close to the base of the plant, rather than on a stalk. They are slowly starting to get some reddish color as the leaves fade.

I also just received 2 titan arum seeds (I'm ambitious!), although I advised the seller that they looked dry, and therefor perhaps dead, but time will tell...

Check out my trade list. I have a number of these tubers available for trade, plus clivia, pleione, etc.

If you email me directly, be sure to put the word 'RICK' in the subject, or I won't receive it.

--Rr

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:389958}}

• davidia
    17 years ago